Please visit Amazon Author Page at

Friday, March 27, 2015

Major Upanishads - 5

Taittreya Upanishad:  This is part of Krishna Yajur veda. This is equivalent to a convocation address to students at the end of their gurukula (living with the teacher) period of 12 years. Many mantras in common use today come from this Upanishad. Examples include:  

1. Satyam vada, dharmam chara, Acharya devo bava, athithi devo bava in 1:11:1 (Speak truth; do the right thing (duty appropriate to your position in life); respect the teacher; serve the guest who arrives on his own)

2. Mata, Pita, guru and daivam in 1:11:2-4. (Respect mother, father, teacher and the Divine in that order)

3. OM is Brahman in 1:8:1

4. It eats (atthi) and is eaten (athyathey); therefore. It is called anna (food)

5. It desired to be many, to be born. Having “created” that, It entered that very thing.

6. Brahman IS satyam, gnanam and anantam. (Brahman is the ultimate truth, knowledge and without limits) It is a definition. These are defining principles and not adjectives.

7. The Being that is in the human and the Being that is in the Sun are one.  

This upanishad also gives a description of the five sheaths (kosa) of an individual, namely anna maya, prana maya, mano maya, vignana maya and ananda maya. They are the fields of food (body), of breath, of mind, of knowledge and of Bliss. The Sanskrit word for bliss is aananda. This has to be differentiated from the word ananta, meaning infinite, eternal, boundless, without limits.

The main message of the Upanishad is about reaching the blissful state of one with Brahman.


No comments: