Please visit Amazon Author Page at

Friday, June 12, 2020

More lessons learned

While translating Asya Vamasya Sukta, I used several dictionaries and texts. I also read two interpretations. As you can see, I was trying to translate the great rishi and my main aid was my imagination of his state of mind at that time in history. I did not try to interpret. In the process of learning about the rishi and his suktas, I learnt a few other tit-bits. Here they are.

The cock is a symbol of Vac (speech) in the Vedic writings because the sound a cock  makes, which is ko, koh, Kowh is said to resemble the short, long and protracted vowels in Sanskrit. This is according to Panini himself.

Seven male children of Agni represent the seven principles of manifestation, namely Mind, Life, earth, Water, Fire, Air and Space.

The wheel is a symbol of Dharma (dharma chakra) and, also a symbol of Time because dharma is a counterpart of rta or cosmic order and it is driven by time. One horse chariot is a symbol of time.

Seven sisters may be the same as seven divine mothers, seven rays of the sun (colors), seven scales in music.

 Self-existent creator is called Svayambhu. He is the father principle – dyau, Prajapati, purusha. He projects himself into the female principle – prithvi, viraj, prakriti.

There is a woman principle in each male and vice versa.

Mind is cosmos. Brahman is mind.

No comments: